Day 2: To P or not to P

Today’s Missing Pages article from photo.net was all about the ‘P’ button. And please excuse the awful pun, I just couldn’t resist.

Confession time. When I woke up and read this lesson, I was in two minds if I should skip this lesson. I have been reading that it is the “Great Satan” on many of the photography boards. Usually by those cognoscenti who seem to post a lot of words but few images.

But I loaded up Horace with an SD card and donned a brave face 🙂 And what a lot I learned! It was a case of only knowing when and how to use a tool once you have mastered it. I now know how to use it but have not yet fully mastered it. But I have set aside some time to practice some more.

What I find really useful was it did not like going below 1/60. It helped me a lot as I sometimes get “shaky hands”. Nothing serious, just that if asked to hold my hand out straight and keep it still, I would fail every time 😦 On the plus side, my setting up, clipping and unclipping speed from a tripod became much faster 🙂

For today, I roped in another model. This time it is Percy. I choose Percy, and he agreed, because the light conditions were all over the place from gloomy, shady, cloudy to sunny. And as Percy is a brilliant bubble gum pink colour, I could practice contrast between various colours. The picture shown is the best from the session. I had great fun doing this practice today. So a good reminder to me that when I don’t feel like doing something, give it a try – it may turn out to be more fun that I thought!

 

Percy Pig Model

Percy Pig Model

And here is what I learned and wrote down on some 3″ x 5″ card:

Shooting in ‘P’, ISO starter points:

  •     80 or 100: Bright sunny day
  •     200: Gloomy / Hazy or outdoor shade on a sunny day
  •     400: Indoors cloudy conditions outside
  •     800: Low-light conditions

And now onto Day 3….

Leave a Reply

